REPORT #619

TAX SECTION

New York State Bar Association

Table of Contents

| Cover | Letter | |
|-------|--------|--|
| 00.0= | | |

OFFICERS WILLIAM L. BURKE

> 330 Madison Avenue New York City 10017

ARTHUR A. FEDER First Vice-Chair

1 New York Plaza New York City 1004

JAMES M. PEASLEE Second Vice-Chair

1 State Street Plaza New York City 10004 JOHN A. CORRY

Secretary

1 Chase Manhattan Plaza New York City 10005

COMMITTEES CHAIRS

Alternative Minimum Tax Sherwin Kamin, New York City Robert J. McDermott, New York City

Bankruptcy
Robert A. Jacobs, New York City Eugene L. Vogel, New York City

Consolidated Returns

Mikel M. Rollyson, Washington, D. C. Irving Salem, New York City

Continuing Legal Education

William M. Colby, Rocheste Laraine S. Rothenberg, New York City

Corporations Richard L. Reinhold, New York City

Michael L. Schler, New York City **Criminal and Civil Penalties** Robert S. Fink. New York City

Michael L. Saltzman, New York City Depreciation and Amortization

David H. Bamberger, New York City William H. Weigel, New York City

Employee Benefits Kenneth C. Edgar, Jr., New York City Barbara D. Klippert, New York City

Estate and Trusts
Sherman F. Levey, Rochester Guy B. Maxfield, New York City

Exempt Organizations Harvey P. Dale, New York City Michelle P. Scott, Newark, NJ Financial Institutions

Thomas A. Humphreys, New York City Leslie B. Samuels, New York City

Financial Instruments Peter C. Canellos, New York City Edward D. Kleinbard, New York City

Foreign Activities of U.S. Taxpayers Cynthia G. Beerbower, New York Randall K.C. Kau, New York City

Income From Real Property
Michael Hirschfeld, New York City Stuart L. Rosow, New York City

Insurance Companies
Norman C. Bensley, Washington, D. C. Hugh T. McCormick, New York City

Interstate Commerce Robert E. Brown, Rochester Paul R. Comeau, Buffalo

Net Operating Losses Richard D'Avino, Washington, D. C. Bruce M. Montgomerie, New York City

New York City Tax Matters Carolyn Joy Lee Ichel, New York City Robert J. Levinsohn, New York City

New York State Tax Matters James A. Locke, Buffalo

Sterling L. Weaver, Rochester Stephen L. Millman, New York City

Steven C. Todrys, New York City

Thomas V. Glynn, New York City Victor F. Keen, New York City
Practice and Procedure

Richard J. Bronstein. New York City Sydney R. Rubin, Rochester Reorganizations

Kenneth H. Heitner, New York City Stanley R. Rubenfield, New York City Sales, Property and Miscellaneous

E. Parker Brown, II, Syracuse Arthur R. Rosen, New York City

Tax Accounting Matters Sherry S. Kraus, Rocheste Victor Zonana, New York City

Henry S. Klaiman, New York City Steven P. Waterman, New York City

Tax Policy
James S. Halpern, Washington, D. C.

Donald R. Turlington, New York City
Unreported Income and Compliance Donald C. Alexander, Washington, D.C. Richard M. Leder, New York (

U.S. Activities of Foreign Taxpavers Matthew M. McKenna, New York City Charles M. Morgan, III, New York City

TAX SECTION

New York State Bar Association

MEMBERS-AT-LARGE OF EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

M. Bernard Aidinoff David H. Brockway Stephen R. Field

Franklin L. Green Eli Jacobsor James A. Levitan

Richard O. Loengard, Jr. Carlyn S. McCaffrey Matthew A. Rosen

Dennis E. Ross Kenneth R. Silbergleit

David E. Watts Mary Katherine Wold George E. Zeitlin

VIA FAX OR FEDERAL EXPRESS

June 27, 1989

The Honorable Tarky Lombardi, Jr. Chairman Senate Finance Committee Room 612 Legislative Office Building Albany, New York 12247

The Honorable Saul Weprin Chairman, New York State Assembly Ways and Means Committee Room 923, Legislative Office Building Albany, New York 12248

> Department of Taxation and Finance Re: 1989 Legislative Proposal No. 1

Dear Senator Lombardi and Assemblyman Weprin:

We are concerned to learn that 1989 Tax Department Legislative Proposal No. 1, relating to procedural rules for most state taxes, has not yet been introduced for consideration.

As you know, procedural uniformity has been the subject of considerable discussion and detailed comment for some time now. The matter has been the subject of two separate reports by the Tax Section's Committee on New York State Taxes, one in 1984 and a second in 1988 commenting on the Department's Study Bill on this subject. We know that other organizations also submitted written comments on the Study Bill.

At least in our case, almost all the. recommendations that we made in our reports have been incorporated into the 1989 Legislative Proposal. Since the basic questions and issues have now received considerable attention and are fresh in the minds of interested parties, we believe that

FORMER CHAIRS OF SECTION

Howard O. Colgan Charles L. Kades Carter T. Louthan Samuel Brodsky Thomas C. Plowden-Wardlaw Edwin M. Jones Hon. Hugh R. Jones

Peter Miller John W. Fager John E. Morrissey Jr. Charles E. Heming Appert Ralph O. Winger Hewitt A. Conway

Peter L. Faber Renato Beghe Alfred D. Youngwood Gordon D. Henderson David Sachs Ruth G. Schapiro

Martin D. Ginsburg

J. Roger Mentz Willard B. Taylor Richard J. Hiegel Dale S. Collinson Richard G. Cohen Donald Schapiro Herbert L. Camp

this question has now developed to the point where legislative action is appropriate and desirable this year.

In terms of the substance of the 1989
Legislative Proposal, we strongly supported the 1988
Study Bill, and while we will have recommendations
for further improvements, it should be expected that
the report we are preparing will strongly support
the Proposal also and recommend its adoption, even
if further amendments cannot be made at this time.
We believe that the Proposal is good tax policy,
both for taxpayers and for the Department of
Taxation and Finance, and we urge that the Proposal
be introduced prior to the adjournment of the
Legislature.

Sincerely,

WLB/JAPP

Wm. L. Burke Chair

cc: to: Senato

Senator Ralph J. Marino

Majority Leader

New York State Senate

330 Capitol

Albany, New York 12247

Assemblyman Melvin H. Miller Speaker of the Assembly

Legislative Office Bldg.

Room 932

Albany, New York 12248

Senator Manfred Ohrenstein

Minority Leader

New York State Senate Legislative Office Bldg.

Room 907

Albany, New York 12247

Assemblyman Clarence O. Rappleyea, Jr.

Minority Leader

New York State Assembly

Legislative Office Bldg.

Room 933

Albany, New York 12248

Abraham Lackrnan Director, Fiscal Studies Senate Finance Committee Empire State Plaza Agency Building #4 Albany, New York 12233

Dean Fuelihan Secretary Assembly Ways and Means Committee The Capitol Albany, New York 12224

Evan A. Davis, Esq. Counsel to the Governor The Capitol Albany, New York 12224

William F. Collins, Esq.
Deputy Commissioner and Counsel
New York State Department of
Taxation and Finance
State Campus - Building 9
Albany, New York 12227

Saul Heckelman, Esq,
Special Counsel to the Commissioner
of Taxation and Finance
New York State Department of
Taxation and Finance
State Campus - Building 9
Albany, New York 12227-0215