### **REPORT #795**

### **TAX SECTION**

# New York State Bar Association

Letter on Limited Liability

### **Table of Contents**

~																			
Cover	Letter:	 		 	 	 	 	 			 	1							

#### TAX SECTION 1994-1995 Executive Committee MICHAEL L. SCHLER

Chair 825 Eighth Avenue New York City 10019 212/474-1588

CAROLYN JOY LEE First Vice-Chair

First Vice-Chair 212/903-8761 RICHARD L. REINHOLD

Second Vice-Chair 212/701-3672

RICHARD O. LOENGARD, JF Secretary 212/820-8260

COMMITTEE CHAIRS:

Bankruptcy
Elliot Pisem
Joel Scharfstein

Basis, Gains & Losses

David H. Brockway Edward D. Kleinbard

Damian M. Hovancik Prof. Deborah H. Schenk Compliance, Practice & Procedure

Robert S. Fink Arnold Y. Kapiloff Consolidated Returns Dennis E. Ross Dana Trier

Corporations Yaron Z. Reich Steven C. Todrys

Cost Recovery

Katherine M. Bristor
Stephen B. Land

Estate and Trusts
Kim E. Baptiste
Steven M. Loeb

Financial Instruments
David P. Hariton
Bruce Kayle

Financial Intermediaries
Richard C. Blake
Stephen L. Millman
Foreign Activities of U.S. Taxpayers

Diana M. Lopo
Philip R. West
Individuals

Victor F. Keen Sherry S. Kraus

Multistate Tax Issues Arthur R. Rosen Sterling L. Weaver Net Operating Losses

Stuart J. Goldring Robert A. Jacobs New York City Taxes Robert J. Levinsohn

Robert Plautz

New York State Income Taxes
Paul R. Comeau

James A. Locke

New York State Sales and Misc.
E. Parker Brown, II

Maria T. Jones Nonqualified Employee Benefits Stephen T. Lindo

Loran T. Thompson Partnership Andrew N. Berg William B. Brannan

Pass-Through Entities Roger J. Baneman

Thomas A. Humphreys Qualified Plans Stuart N. Alperin Kenneth C. Edgar, Jr.

Real Property
Linda Z. Swartz
Larry S. Wolf
Reorganizations

eorganizations Patrick C. Gallagher Mary Kate Wold

Tax Accounting
Jodi J. Schwartz
Esta E. Stecher

Tax Exempt Bonds Linda D'Onofrio Patti T. Wu

Tax Exempt Entities Franklin L. Green Michelle P. Scott

Michelle P. Scott **Tax Policy**Reuven S. Avi-Yonah

Robert H. Scarborough

U.S. Activities of Foreign Taxpayers

Michael Hirschfeld

Charles M. Morgan, III

### TAX SECTION

## New York State Bar Association

MEMBERS-AT-LARGE OF EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

M. Bernard Aidinoff Geoffrey R.S Brown Robert E. Brown Harvey P. Dale Cha Harry L. Gutman Ric Harold R. Handler Eril

Charles I. Kingson Richard M. Leder Erika W. Nijenhuis Ann-Elizabeth Purintun Mikel M. Rollyson Stanley I. Rubenfeld Eugene L. Vogel David E. Watts Joanne M. Wilson

June 23, 1994

Honorable Mario M. Cuomo Governor of the State of New York Executive Chamber Albany, NY 12224

Re: Limited Liability Companies

Dear Governor Cuomo:

We are writing to again urge that New York promptly enact Limited Liability Company legislation. LLCs are an important new kind of business entity. The majority of states, including New Jersey and Connecticut, have already adopted LLC legislation. It is vital that New York join this group.

After a great deal of debate and discussion, reflected in our letters to you of January 27, 1993 and June 21, 1993, New York now has a proposed LLC bill (A.11317/S.7511) that will bring this business vehicle to the state without creating excessive new taxes. We strongly support this bill, and we emphasize the importance of taking prompt action to enact LLC legislation before this legislative session expires.

Very truly yours,

Michael L. Schler Chair

#### FORMER CHAIRS OF SECTION

Howard O. Colgan Charles L. Kades Carter T. Louthan Samuel Brodsky Thomas C. Plowden-Wardlaw Edwin M. Jones Hon. Hugh R. Jones Peter Miller John W. Fager John E. Morrissey Jr. Charles E. Heming Richard H. Appert Ralph O. Winger Hewitt A. Conway Martin D. Ginsburg Peter L. Faber Hon. Renato Beghe Alfred D. Youngwood Gordon D. Henderson David Sachs J. Roger Mentz Willard B. Taylor Richard J. Hiegel Dale S. Collinson Richard G. Cohen Donald Schapiro Herbert L. Camp William L. Burke Arthur A. Feder James M. Peaslee John A. Corry Peter C. Canellos cc: Honorable Ralph J. Marino
Majority Leader and Temporary
President
New York State Senate
Room 330, State Capitol
Albany, New York 12224

Honorable Sheldon Silver Speaker New York State Assembly 932 Legislative Office Building Albany, New York 12248