## New York State Bar Association

One Elk Street, Albany, New York 12207 • 518/463-3200



## TAX SECTION

1995-1996 Executive Committee

M. Bernard Aidinoff Dickson G. Brown E. Parker Brown, II

MEMBERS-AT-LARGE OF EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE: Scott F. Cristman Harold R. Handler

Walter Hellerstein

Sherwin Kamin Charles I. Kingson Richard M. Leder

Yaron Z. Reich Stanley I. Rubenfeld David R. Sicular

Esta E. Stecher Eugene L. Vogel David E. Watts

July 14, 1995

CAROLYN JOY LEE Chair Worldwide Plaza 825 Eighth Ave. New York, NY 10019 RICHARD L. REINHOLD First Vice-Chair

212/701-3672 RICHARD O. LOENGARD, JR. Second Vice-Chair 212/859-8260 STEVEN C. TODRYS

Secretary 212/715-9331 COMMITTEE CHAIRS:

COMMITTEE CHAIRS:
Bankruptcy
Joel Scharfstein
Linda Z. Swartz
Basis, Gains & Losses
Stephen B. Land
Robert H. Scarborough
CLE and Pro Bono
Damian M. Hovancik
Deborah H. Schenk
Compliance, Practice & Procedure
Robert S. Fink
Arnold Y. Kapiloff
Consolidated Returns
Ann-Elizabeth Purintun
Dennis E. Ross
Corporations

Corporations
Katherine M. Bristor
Deborah L. Paul
Cost Recovery
Geoffrey R.S. Brown
Elliot Pisem

Elliot Pisem
Estates and Trusts
Carlyn S. McCaffrey
Georgiana J. Slade
Financial Instruments
David P. Harnton
Bruce Kayle
Financial Intermedianies
Richard C. Blake
Thomas A. Humphreys
Foreign Activities of U.S.
Taxpayers Taxpayers
Reuven S. Avi-Yonah
Philip R. West
Individuals
Victor F. Keen Sherry S. Kraus Multistate Tax Issues Robert E. Brown Paul R. Comeau

Paul H. Comeau
Net Operation Losses
Stuar J. Goldring
Robert A. Jacobs
New York City Taxes
Robert J. Levinsohn
Robert Plautz
New York State Franchise and Income Taxes New York State Owners Maria T. Jones Sandan M. Wilson
Nongualified Employee Benefits
Stuart N. Alberin
Kenneth C. Edgar, Jr.

Kenneth C. Edgar, Jr Partnerships Andrew N. Berg William B. Brannan Pass-Through Entities Roger J. Baneman Stephen L. Millman Qualified Plans Stephen T. Lindo Loran T. Thompson Real Property Alan J. Tarr Lary S. Wolf Reorganizations Reorganizations
Patrick C. Gallagher
Mary Kate Wold
Tax Accounting
Erika W. Nijenhuis
Jodi J. Schwartz Jod J. Schwartz
Tax Exempt Bonds
Linda L. D'Onofrio
Path T. Wu
Tax Exempt Entities
Michelle P. Scott
Jonathan A. Small
Tax Policy
David H. Brockway
Peter v.Z. Cobb
U.S. Activities of Foreign
Taxpayers

Taxpayers
Michael Hirschfeld
Charles M. Morgan, III

Honorable George E. Pataki Governor of the State of New York Executive Chamber Albany, NY 12224

> Re: Regulatory Reform

Dear Governor Pataki:

Early in your administration you established a moratorium on State regulations, and directed each Department to evaluate existing regulations and identify areas in which rules or regulations should be modified, rescinded or withdrawn.

We recognize that governmental regulations can be burdensome, but the Tax Section also believes very strongly that the promulgation of tax regulations generally is helpful to the business community. obligations arise under specific statutes and must be understood and complied with, frequently on a daily basis, by New York taxpayers. Slowing the flow of interpretative and explanatory tax regulations can burden taxpayers, rather than help them, for they will still be required to comply with the tax statutes but will not have the benefit of regulatory guidance setting forth the government's interpretation of those For these reasons the Tax Section has James A. Locke laws. For these reasons the Tax Section has
Arthur R. Rosen
New York State Sales and Misc. Consistently urged the State and federal governments to expedite, rather than rein in, the issuance of tax regulations.

> Recently the Department of Taxation and Finance issued its Report on Regulatory Reform (copy We were pleased to see that our concerns featured prominently in the Department's evaluation of the kinds of regulatory reform it should implement. particularly commend Commissioner Urbach and his staff for directing the focus of tax regulatory reform to those aspects of tax regulations that impose "recordkeeping, filing and documentation requirements."

> > FORMER CHAIRS OF SECTION:

Howard O. Colgan, Jr. Charles L. Kades Samuel Brodsky Thomas C. Plowden-Wardlaw Edwin M. Jones Hon. Hugh R. Jones Peter Miller John W. Fager

John E. Morrissey, Jr. Charles E. Heming Richard H. Appert Ralph O. Winger Hewitt A. Conway Martin D. Ginsburg Peter L. Faber Hon. Renato Beghe

Alfred D. Youngwood Gordon D. Henderson David Sachs J. Roger Mentz Willard B. Taylor Richard J. Hiegel Dale S. Collinson Richard G. Cohen

Donald Schapiro Herbert L. Camp William L. Burke Arthur A. Feder James M. Peasiee John A. Corry Peter C. Canellos Michael L. Schler

precisely in these areas, and not by reducing substantive regulation, that reform of tax regulations can best serve to ameliorate burdens on New York taxpayers.

We are therefore encouraged by the approach reflected in the Department's Report. Please do not hesitate to contact me if the Tax Section can be of any assistance to your Administration in this regard.

Very truly yours,

Carolyn Joy Lee

Chair

cc: Bradford J. Race, Jr.
Secretary to Governor Pataki
The Capitol
Albany, NY 1224

Michael C. Finnegan, Esq. Counsel to Governor Pataki The Capitol Albany, NY 12224

Commissioner Michael H. Urbach Department of Taxation and Finance W.A. Harriman Campus, Building 9 Albany, NY 12227

Robert King
Director, Office for Regulatory
Management and Assistance
Alfred E. Smith Building, 17th Floor
Albany, NY 12225



## Report on Regulatory Reform

New York State
Department of Taxation and Finance
April 1995

Michael H. Urbach Commissioner