NEW YORK STATE BAR ASSOCIATION

NYSBA One Elk Street, Albany, New York 12207 • PH 518.463.3200 • www.nysba.org

TAX SECTION

2013-2015 Executive Committee

DAVID H. SCHNABEL

Chair Debevoise & Plimpton LLP 919 Third Avenue New York, NY 10022-3904 212/909-6336 DAVID R. SICULAR First Vice-Chair 212/373-3082 STEPHEN B. LAND Second Vice-Chair 212/692-5991 MICHAEL S. FARBER Secretary 212/450-4704 COMMITTEE CHAIRS: Bankruptcy and Operating Losses Stuart J. Goldring Linda Z. Swartz **Compliance, Practice & Procedure** Elliot Pisem Brvan C. Skarlatos Complexity and Administrability Edward E. Gonzalez Joel Scharfstein **Consolidated Returns** Andrew H. Braiterman Kathleen L. Ferrell Corporations Lawrence M. Garrett Vadim Mahmoudov **Cross-Border Capital Markets** S. Douglas Borisky Andrew Walker Cross-Border M&A Ansgar A. Simon Yaron Z. Reich **Employee Benefits** Eric Hilfers Andrew L. Oringer **Estates and Trusts** Alan S. Halperin Laura M. Twomey **Financial Instruments** William L. McRae "Inbound" U.S. Activities of Foreign Taxpayers Lee Allison Peter J. Connors Individuals Sherry S. Kraus Joseph Septimus Investment Funds Marcy G. Geller Amanda Nussbaum **New York City Taxes** Maria T. Jones Irwin M. Slomka New York State Taxes Paul R. Comeau Arthur R. Rosen "Outbound" Foreign Activities of U.S. Taxpayers Peter F.G. Schuur Philip Wagman Partnerships John T. Lutz Eric Sloan Pass-Through Entities James R. Brown Matthew Lay **Real Property** Robert Cassanos Elizabeth T. Kessenides Reorganizations Joshua Holmes Eric Solomon Securitizations and Structured Finance Jiyeon Lee-Lim Lisa A. Levy Spin Offs Deborah L. Paul Karen Gilbreath Sowell **Tax Exempt Entities** Stuart Rosow Richard R. Upton **Treaties and Intergovernmental** Agreements David R. Hardy Andrew P. Solomon

MEMBERS-AT-LARGE OF EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

Janet A. Andolina Robert E. Brown Steven A. Dean Charles I. Kingson Robert J. Levinsohn Jack Trachtenberg Charles M. Morgan Gordon Warnke David M. Schizer Stephen E. Shay

November 26, 2013

Thomas H. Mattox Commissioner NYS Department of Taxation and Finance W. A. Harriman Campus, Building 9 Albany, NY 12227□

Re: Report on New York State Installment Agreements

Dear Commissioner Mattox:

John E. Morrissey, Jr.

Hon. Renato Beghe

Alfred D. Youngwood

Gordon D. Henderson

Peter L. Faber

David Sachs

J. Roger Mentz

Willard B. Taylor

I am pleased to submit the attached report of the Tax Section of the New York State Bar Association. This report is the next report in response to your request that we work with you and your staff on suggestions to improve the collections process for taxpayers, practitioners and the Department. We commend the Department for actively seeking ways to make that process more accessible and more efficient. The prompt collection of outstanding tax liabilities is important to all of us. This report, prepared with the assistance of a working group of practitioners, focuses primarily on the need for more publicly available information on the guidelines and procedures applicable to the installment agreement process.

We again express our appreciation to the Department for permitting us to participate in this collaborative effort to find ways to improve the collections process to the benefit of the State of New York and its taxpayers. We look forward to the opportunity to work with your staff on the guidelines and procedures discussed in this report.

Respectfully submitted,

David H. Schnabel

FORMER CHAIRS OF SECTION:

Richard J. Hiegel Dale S. Collinson Richard G. Cohen Donald Schapiro Herbert L. Camp William L. Burke Arthur A. Feder James M. Peaslee John A. Corry Peter C. Canellos Michael L. Schler Carolyn Joy Lee Richard L. Reinhold Richard O. Loengard Steven C. Todrys Harold B. Handler

Robert H. Scarborough Robert A. Jacobs Samuel J. Dimon Andrew N. Berg Lewis R. Steinberg David P. Hariton Kimberly S. Blanchard Patrick C. Gallapher David S. Miller Erika W. Nijenhuis Peter H. Blessing Jodi J. Schwartz Andrew W. Needham Diana L. Wollman Mr. Mattox November 26, 2013 Page 2

Enclosure

cc: Nonie Manion Executive Deputy Commissioner

> Patricia Coneys Director of Collections and Civil Enforcement Division