New York State Bar Association

One Elk Street, Albany, New York 12207 • 518/463-3200 • http://www.nysba.org



Ronald F. Kennedy, Director • Department of Governmental Relations • (FAX) 518/487-5579

March 21, 2017

Hon. Andrew M. Cuomo Governor of New York State Capitol Building Albany, New York 12224

Re: 2017-18 Budget Bill, S.2006/A.3006 - Consolidation of Administrative Hearings

Dear Governor Cuomo:

I am submitting herewith for your consideration materials developed by the State Bar Association's Tax Section, relating to the proposal to consolidate administrative hearings, which was included in your Executive Budget proposal as Part U of S.2006/A.3006.

Thank you for your attention to this matter.

Sincerely,

Ronald F. Kennedy

Ronald F. Kennedy

ccs:

Hon. Catharine Young, Chair Senate Finance Committee 428 Capitol Albany, NY 12247

Hon. John J. Flanagan Majority Leader, NYS Senate Room 330, State Capitol Building Albany, NY 12247 Roberta Moseley Nero, President NYS Tax Appeals Tribunal 1290 Avenue of The Americas New York, NY 10104

Robert Mujica, Director New York State Division of the Budget State Capitol, Room 335 Albany, NY 12247

Hon. Carl E. Heastie Assembly Speaker LOB 932 Albany, NY 12248

Hon. Brian M. Kolb Assembly Minority Leader LOB 933 Albany, NY 12248

Hon. Herman D. Farrell, Jr., Chair Assembly Ways and Means Committee Chairman's Office State Capitol, Room 923/342 Albany, NY 12248

Nonie Manion Acting Commissioner NYS Dept. of Taxation and Finance Governor Averill Harriman State Office Campus Building 9 Albany, NY 12227



NEW YORK STATE BAR ASSOCIATION

One Elk Street, Albany, New York 12207 PH 518.463.3200 www.nysba.org

TAX SECTION

2017-2018 Executive Committee MICHAEL S. FARBER Chair Davis Polk & Wardwell LLP 450 Lexington Avenue New York, NY 10017 212/450-4704 KAREN GILBREATH SOWELL First Vice-Chair 202/327-8747 DEBORAH L. PAUL Second Vice-Chair 212/403-1300 ANDREW H. BRAITERMAN Secretary 212/837-6315 COMMITTEE CHAIRS: **Bankruptcy and Operating Losses** Stuart J. Goldring David W. Mayo Compliance, Practice & Procedure Filiot Pisem Bryan C. Skarlatos **Consolidated Returns** William Alexander Richard Nugent Corporations Michael T. Mollerus Gordon E. Warnke **Cross-Border Capital Markets** David M Schizer Andrew R. Walker Cross-Border M&A Yaron Z. Reich Ansgar A. Simon **Employee Benefits** Robert C Fleder Jeffrey W. Ross Estates and Trusts Alan S. Halperin Joseph Septimus **Financial Instruments** Lucy W. Farr Jeffrey Maddrey "Inbound" U.S. Activities of Foreign Taxpayers Peter J. Connors Peter F. G. Schuur Individuals Megan L. Brackney Steven A. Dean Investment Funds John C. Hart Amanda H Nussbaum Multistate Taxation Arthur R. Rosen Jack Trachtenhero New York City Taxes Maria T. Jones Irwin M. Slomka New York State Taxes Paul R. Comeau Joshua E. Gewolb "Outbound" Foreign Activities of U.S. Taxpayers Andrew P. Solomon Philip R. Wagman Partnerships Phillip J. Gall Eric B. Sloan Pass-Through Entities James R. Brown Edward E. Gonzalez Real Property Robert Cassanos Marcy Geller Reorganizations Neil J. Barr Peter A. Furci Securitizations and Structured Finance Daniel M. Dunn John T. Lutz Spin Offs Lawrence M. Garrett Joshua M. Holmes Tax Exempt Entities Stuart Rosow Richard R Unton Treaties and Intergovernmental Agreements Lee E. Allison David R. Hardy

Daniel Z. Altman Austin W. Bramwell Pamela L. Endrenv Jason R. Factor

MEMBERS-AT-LARGE OF EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE: Kathleen | Ferrell Elizabeth T. Kessenides Shane J. Kiggen Sherry S. Kraus

William L. McRae Joel Scharfstein Stephen E. Shav **Eric Solomon**

Linda Z. Swartz Andrea K. Wahlquist S. Eric Wang Sara Zablotnev

March 21, 2017

Ronald Kennedv **Director of Governmental Relations** New York State Bar Association One Elk Street Albany, New York 12207

Re: Fiscal Year 2018 Budget Bill S02006/A03006 - Consolidation of Administrative Hearing

Dear Mr. Kennedy:

We are writing this letter and the attached Report to express our concern regarding certain aspects of Budget Bill S02006/A03006, which would consolidate substantially all administrative hearing functions now conducted by executive agencies within one central administrative hearings body. As currently written, the Bill excludes only the department of law and the department of audit and control. We recommend an expansion of this list to also exclude the administrative hearing functions within the Department of Taxation and Finance's Division of Tax Appeals.

The Division has performed its role admirably for 30 years, and has served as a model for other states. Its proceedings are regarded by both the Department and taxpayers as impartial, fair and timely. Hearings are conducted before qualified, knowledgeable administrative law judges, with appeals available to a dedicated three-member tax tribunal. The tax expertise of the Division's judges and Tribunal members is a critical part of its success. Tax issues are complex and technical and it is important that they be adjudicated by tax specialists, not generalists.

Peter L. Faber Alfred D. Youngwood Gordon D. Henderson David Sachs J. Roger Mentz Willard B. Taylor Richard J. Hiegel

Herbert L. Camp William L. Burke Arthur A. Feder James M. Peaslee Peter C. Canellos Michael L. Schler Carolyn Joy Lee

FORMER CHAIRS OF SECTION:

Richard L. Reinhold Steven C. Todrys Harold R. Handler Robert H. Scarborough Robert A. Jacobs Samuel J. Dimon Andrew N. Berg

Lewis R. Steinberg David P. Hariton Kimberly S. Blanchard Patrick C. Gallagher David S. Miller Erika W. Nijenhuis Peter H. Blessing

Jodi J. Schwartz Andrew W. Needham Diana L. Wollman David H. Schnabel David R. Sicular Stephen B. Land

The attached Report provides a more thorough discussion of the current structure, the Budget proposal, our concerns, and our recommended modification. There is no reason to restructure the tax adjudicatory process and we strongly recommend that the Division of Tax Appeals process be excluded from the proposed restructuring of administrative hearings.

Sincerely,

1826

Michael Farber, Chair