

## NEW YORK STATE BAR ASSOCIATION

One Elk Street, Albany, New York 12207 PH 518.463.3200 www.nysba.org

## TAX SECTION

2018-2019 Executive Committee

KAREN GILBREATH SOWELL

Chair Ernst & Young LLP 1101 New York Ave, N.W. Washington, DC 20005 202/327-8747

DEBORAH L. PAUL First Vice-Chair 212/403-1300

ANDREW H. BRAITERMAN Second Vice-Chair

GORDON E. WARNKE Secretary 212/997-0500

COMMITTEE CHAIRS: Bankruptcy and Operating Losses

Stuart J. Goldring David W. Mayo

Compliance, Practice & Procedure
Elliot Pisem

Bryan C. Skarlatos Consolidated Returns William Alexander Richard Nugent

Corporations
Michael T. Mollerus
Linda Z. Swartz

Cross-Border Capital Markets David M. Schizer Andrew R. Walker

Cross-Border M&A Yaron Z. Reich Ansgar A. Simon Employee Benefits Robert C. Fleder

Robert C. Fleder Andrea K. Wahlquist Estates and Trusts Alan S. Halperin

Joseph Septimus Financial Instruments Lucy W. Farr

Lucy W. Farr
Jeffrey Maddrey
"Inbound" U.S. Activities of Foreign

Taxpayers
Peter J. Connors
Peter F. G. Schuur

Individuals Megan L. Brackney Steven A. Dean Investment Funds

John C. Hart Amanda H. Nussbaum **Multistate Taxation** 

Arthur R. Rosen Jack Trachtenberg New York City Taxes Sherry S. Kraus Irwin M. Slomka

Irwin M. Slomka
New York State Taxes
Paul R. Comeau

Joshua E. Gewolb
"Outbound" Foreign Activities of

U.S. Taxpayers Andrew P. Solomon Philip R. Wagman Partnerships Phillip J. Gall

Phillip J. Gall
Eric B. Sloan

Pass-Through Entities
James R. Brown
Edward E. Gonzalez

Edward E. Gonzalez Real Property Robert Cassanos Marcy Geller

Marcy Geller Reorganizations Neil J. Barr Peter A. Furci

Securitizations and Structured Finance

Daniel M. Dunn John T. Lutz Spin Offs

Lawrence M. Garrett Joshua M. Holmes Tax Exempt Entities Stuart Rosow

Richard R. Upton Treaties and Intergovernmental

Agreements Lee E. Allison David R. Hardy

## MEMBERS-AT-LARGE OF EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE:

Daniel Z. Altman William A. Curran Tijana J. Dvornic Pamela L. Endreny Jason R. Factor Kathleen L. Ferrell Elizabeth T. Kessenides Shane J. Kiggen Stuart E. Leblang William L. McRae Kara L. Mungovan Joel Scharfstein Stephen E. Shay Michael B. Shulman Eric Solomon Jonathan R. Talansky Eric Wang Sara B. Zablotney

> Report No. 1396 June 7, 2018

The Honorable David J. Kautter Assistant Secretary (Tax Policy) Department of the Treasury 1500 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW Washington, DC 20220

The Honorable William M. Paul Principal Deputy Chief Counsel and Deputy Chief Counsel (Technical) Internal Revenue Service 1111 Constitution Avenue, NW Washington, DC 20224 The Honorable David J. Kautter Acting Commissioner Internal Revenue Service 1111 Constitution Avenue, NW Washington, DC 20224

Re: Report No. 1396 on Provisions of the New Tax Law Affecting Tax-Exempt Organizations

Dear Messrs. Kautter and Paul:

I am pleased to submit Report No. 1396 that addresses several provisions impacting exempt organizations that were added to the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended, by P.L. 115-97 (the "Act") on December 22, 2017. The Report addresses (i) Section 512(a)(6) (concerning the siloing of losses for purposes of calculating unrelated business income tax), (ii) Section 512(a)(7) (which treats certain fringe benefits as unrelated business taxable income ("UBTI")), (iii) certain international provisions of the Act and their impact on the calculation of taxes on net investment income under Sections 4940 and 4968 and the calculation of UBTI, (iv) Section 4960 (which imposes a 21% excise tax on remuneration over \$1 million and "excess parachute payments" paid to certain employees of exempt

Peter L. Faber Alfred D. Youngwood Gordon D. Henderson David Sachs J. Roger Mentz Willard B. Taylor Richard J. Hiegel

Herbert L. Camp William L. Burke Arthur A. Feder James M. Peaslee Peter C. Canellos Michael L. Schler Carolyn Joy Lee Richard L. Reinhold Steven C. Todrys Harold R. Handler Robert H. Scarborough Robert A. Jacobs Samuel J. Dimon Andrew N. Berg

FORMER CHAIRS OF SECTION:

Lewis R. Steinberg David P. Hariton Kimberly S. Blanchard Patrick C. Gallagher David S. Miller Erika W. Nijenhuis Peter H. Blessing Jodi J. Schwartz Andrew W. Needham Diana L. Wollman David H. Schnabel David R. Sicular Stephen B. Land Michael S. Farber organizations), and (v) Section 4968 (which imposes a 1.4% excise tax on the net investment income of certain colleges and universities).

Each of the new provisions raises interpretive issues on which guidance from the Department of the Treasury and the Internal Revenue Service is needed. The report identifies questions with respect to the new statutory language and makes certain recommendations for guidance.

We appreciate your consideration of our recommendations and requests for guidance. If you have any questions or comments regarding this Report, please feel free to contact us and we will be glad to assist in any way.

Respectfully submitted,

Karen G. Sowell

Karen G. Sowell

Chair

Enclosure

Cc:

Thomas C. West
Tax Legislative Counsel
Department of the Treasury

Shelley de Alth Leonard Deputy Tax Legislative Counsel Department of the Treasury

Elinor Ramey Attorney-Advisor Department of the Treasury

Victoria A. Judson Associate Chief Counsel (TEGE) Internal Revenue Service

Janine Cook
Deputy Associate Chief Counsel (TEGE)
Internal Revenue Service