NEW YORK STATE BAR ASSOCIATION NYSBA One Elk Street, Albany, New York 12207 • PH 518.463.3200 • www.nysba.org

## TAX SECTION

### 2012-2013 Executive Committee

ANDREW W. NEEDHAM Chair Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLP 825 Eighth Avenue New York, NY 10019 212/474-1440 DIANA L. WOLLMAN First Vice-Chair 212/558-4055 DAVID H. SCHNABEL Second Vice-Chair 212/909-6336 DAVID R. SICULAR Secretary 212/373-3082 COMMITTEE CHAIRS: Bankruptcy and Operating Losses Stuart J. Goldring Deborah L. Paul Compliance, Practice & Procedure Elliot Pisem Bryan C. Skarlatos Consolidated Returns Lawrence M. Garrett Edward E. Gonzalez Corporations Karen Gilbreath Sowell Linda Z. Swartz Cross-Border Capital Markets S. Douglas Borisky Andrew Walker Employee Benefits Eric Hilfers Andrew L. Oringer Estates and Trusts Alan S. Halperin Laura M. Twomey Financial Instruments Michael S. Farber William L. McRae "Inbound" U.S. Activities of Foreign Taxpayers Peter J. Connors Yaron Z. Reich Individuals Robert E. Brown Sherry S. Kraus Investment Funds Marcy G. Geller Joel Scharfstein New York City Taxes Maria T. Jones Irwin M. Slomka New York State Taxes Paul R. Comeau Arthur R. Rosen "Outbound" Foreign Activities of U.S. Taxpayers Andrew H. Braiterman David R. Hardy Partnerships David W. Mayo Eric Sloan Pass-Through Entities James R. Brown John T. Lutz Real Property Robert Cassanos Lisa A. Levy Reorganizations Peter F. G. Schuur Gordon Warnke Securitizations and Structured Finance Jiyeon Lee-Lim W. Kirk Wallace Tax Exempt Entities Flizabeth T. Kessenides Richard R. Upton

#### MEMBERS-AT-LARGE OF EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

Lee E. Allison Janet A Andolina Steven A. Dean Kathleen I Ferrell Joshua M. Holmes Charles I. Kingson Stephen B. Land Amanda H. Nussbaum Matthew Lay David M. Schizer Stephen E. Shav Robert J. Levinsohn Vadim Mahmoudov Ansgar A. Simon Andrew P. Solomon Garv B. Mandel Charles M. Morgan Fric Solomon

Philip Wagman

September 6, 2012

Rep. Dave Camp, Chair House Ways and Means Committee U.S. House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

Sen. Max Baucus, Chair Senate Finance Committee U.S. Senate Washington, DC 20510

Rep. Sander M. Levin **Ranking Minority Member** House Ways and Means Committee U.S. House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Charles E. Grassley **Ranking Minority Member** Senate Finance Committee U.S. Senate Washington, DC 20510

# **Re:** Report on Representative Camp's International Tax Reform **Discussion Draft**

## Gentlemen:

I am pleased to submit the attached report of the Tax Section of the New York State Bar Association on Representative Camp's International Tax Reform Discussion Draft (the "Discussion Draft"). We understand the difficulties inherent in formulating any kind of comprehensive international tax reform plan and we appreciate the opportunity to provide comments on the plan described in the Discussion Draft.

The scope of the report is limited to a discussion and analysis of certain issues and considerations we believe will be important to the effective implementation of the plan described in the Discussion Draft. It does not discuss or express any view on the fundamental policy choices it reflects. Nor does the report comment more generally on the relative advantages or

John E. Morrissey, Jr. Peter L. Faber Hon, Renato Beghe Alfred D. Youngwood Gordon D. Henderson David Sachs J. Roger Mentz Willard B. Taylor

FORMER CHAIRS OF SECTION: Richard J. Hiegel Dale S. Collinson Richard G. Cohen Donald Schapiro Herbert L. Camp William L. Burke Arthur A. Feder James M. Peaslee

John A. Corry Peter C. Canellos Michael L. Schler Carolyn Joy Lee Richard L. Reinhold Richard O. Loengard Steven C. Todrys Harold R. Handler

Robert H. Scarborough Robert A. Jacobs Samuel J. Dimon Andrew N. Berg Lewis R. Steinberg David P. Hariton Kimberly S. Blanchard Patrick C. Gallagher

David S Miller Erika W. Nijenhuis Peter H. Blessing Jodi J. Schwartz

September 6, 2012 Page 2

disadvantages of different international taxing regimes, including the current one.

We appreciate your consideration of our comments.

Respectfully submitted,

ilma alum

Andrew W. Needham Chair

Enclosures

cc: Thomas A. Barthold Chief of Staff Joint Committee on Taxation

> Lily Batchelder Chief Tax Counsel (Majority) Senate Finance Committee

Michael Caballero International Tax Counsel Department of the Treasury

Manal Corwin Deputy Assistant Secretary (International Tax Affairs) Department of the Treasury

Mark Mazur Assistant Secretary (Tax Policy) Department of the Treasury

Emily S. McMahon Deputy Assistant Secretary (Tax Policy) Department of the Treasury

Mark Prater Chief Tax Counsel (Minority) Senate Finance Committee

Lisa Zarlenga Tax Legislative Counsel (Regulatory Affairs) Department of the Treasury