## NEW YORK STATE BAR ASSOCIATION MINUTES OF ANNUAL MEETING NEW YORK HILTON MIDTOWN, NEW YORK JANUARY 20, 2023

.....

PRESENT: Ahn; Aidala; Alcott; Alomar; Arenson; Baum; Beecher; Beltran; Berman; Block; Braverman; Brown; Bucki; Buholtz; Campbell; Chandrasekhar; Chang; Christian; B. Cohen; D. Cohen; O. Cohen; Cohn; Davidoff; Degnan; Doyle; Dubowski; Effman; Feal; Fernandez; Fogel; French; Gerstman; Gilmartin; Gold, Grays; Gross; Haig; Harper; Heath; Jackson; Jacobson; Jaglom; James; Jamieson; Jones; Kamins; Karson; Kenney; Kiernan; Klass; Kobak; Koch; Kohlmann; LaMancuso; Lara-Garduno; LaRose; Lathrop; Lau-Kee; Leber; Lenci; Lessard; Levin Wallach; Lewis; Lisi; Loyola; Lustbader; Lynn; Madigan; Marinaccio; Markowitz; Maroney; Martin; Matthews; May; McCann; McGinn; McKeegan; McNamara; C. Miller; M. Miller; Minkoff; Moretti; Morrissey; Muller; Mulry; Napoletano; Nowotarski; Petterchak; Quaye; Riano; J. Richardson; Richter; Riedel; Rothberg; Russell; Santiago; Sargente; Seiden; Sen; Sharkey; Silkenat; Simon; Skidelsky; Sonberg; Stephenson; Sunshine; Swanson; Sweet; Tambasco; Vaughn; Wesson; Westlake; Wolff; Woodley; Yeung-Ha; Younger

Ms. Levin Wallach presided over the meeting as President of the Association.

- 1. The meeting was called to order and the Pledge of Allegiance recited.
- 2. <u>Approval of minutes of the January 22, 2022, meeting</u>. The minutes, as previously distributed, were accepted.
- 3. Report of the Nominating Committee and election of elected delegates to the House of Delegates. Sharon Stern Gerstman, in her capacity as alternate member-at-large of the Nominating Committee, reported that the Committee had nominated the following individuals for election as elected delegates to the House of Delegates for the 2023-2024 Association year:

<u>First District</u>: James B. Kobak, Stephen Charles Lessard, and Diana S. Sen, all of New York City;

Second District: Hon. Barry Kamins, Aimee L. Richter, and Anthony Vaughn, all of Brooklyn;

Third District: Mara Afzali, Hermes Fernandez, and Colleen R. Pierson, all of Albany;

<u>Fourth District</u>: M. Elizabeth Coreno, Margaret E. Gilmartin, and Connor Reale, all of Saratoga Springs;

<u>Fifth District</u>: Stuart LaRose and John T. McCann of Syracuse, and Jean Marie Westlake of East Syracuse;

<u>Sixth District</u>: Alyssa M. Barreiro and Rachel Ellen Miller of Binghamton, and Jeri Ann Duvall of Cortland;

<u>Seventh District</u>: Duwaine T. Bascoe of Penfield, Stephen M. Kelley of Geneseo, and Amy E. Schwartz-Wallace of Rochester;

<u>Eighth District</u>: Sophie I. Feal of Buffalo, and Norman P. Effman and Leah Nowotarski of Warsaw;

Ninth District: Claire J. Degnan, Hon. Linda S. Jamieson, and John A. Pappalardo, all of White Plains:

<u>Tenth District</u>: Harvey B. Besunder of Islandia, Justin M. Block of Central Islip, and Peter H. Levy of Jericho;

<u>Eleventh District</u>: Kristen J. Dubowski and Arthur N. Terranova of Queens, and Hon. Karina E. Alomar of Kew Gardens;

<u>Twelfth District</u>: Samuel Braverman, Renee Corley Hill, and Steven E. Millon, all of the Bronx;

<u>Thirteenth District</u>: Allyn J. Crawford, Hon. Edwina Frances Martin, and Sheila T. McGinn, all of Staten Island.

There being no further nominations, a motion was made and carried for the Secretary to cast a single ballot for the elected delegates to the House of Delegates.

- 4. <u>Report of President.</u> Ms. Levin Wallach highlighted the items contained in her written report, a copy of which is appended to these minutes.
- 5. Report of Treasurer. Domenick Napoletano, Treasurer, reported on the 2022 operating budget, noting that through December 31, 2022, the Association's total revenue was \$18.6 million, a decrease of approximately \$293,000 from the previous year, and total expenses were \$18.3 million, an increase of approximately \$3.8 million over 2021, for a surplus of \$262,619, a decrease of approximately \$4.1 million compared to 2021. The report was received with thanks.
- 6. <u>Memorial for John J. Yanas, Sr.</u> Past President Justin L. Vigdor offered a memorial for Mr. Yanas, Association President from 1989 to 1990, who passed away on January 8, 2023. A moment of silence was observed in memory of Mr. Yanas and his contributions to the Association and the profession.
- 7. Report and recommendations of Committee on Bylaws. Robert T. Schofield, IV, chair of the Bylaws Committee, presented the Committee's proposed amendments to the Bylaws. First, to implement the resolution of the Committee on Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion as adopted by the House of Delegates on June 18, 2022, directing the addition of a new Section 2 to Article II and amendments to Article V, Section 3(H) and Article VII, Section

- 1(F)(1). Second, to incorporate requests made by the Committee on Membership for amendments to Article III, Section 1(D)(1) and Article III, Section 6. Third, to correct an internal citation error at Article IV, Section 7. After discussion, a motion was adopted to approve the Bylaws amendments.
- 8. <u>Adjournment</u>. There being no further business, the Annual Meeting of the Association was adjourned.

Respectfully Submitted,

Taa R. Grays

Secretary