## NEW YORK STATE BAR ASSOCIATION MINUTES OF HOUSE OF DELEGATES MEETING NEW YORK HILTON MIDTOWN, NEW YORK, AND REMOTE MEETING JANUARY 19, 2024

**PRESENT:** Aberni, Afzali, Ahn, Alcott, Antongiovanni, Arenson, Averna, Babbie, Baum, Beecher, Beltran, Berlin, Besunder, Bladykas, Bouse, Bray, Breen, Broderick, Bucki, Buholtz, Burke, Burner, Campbell, Carlisle, Choi, B. Cohen, D. Cohen, D. Cohn, S. Cohn, D'Angelo, Davidoff, Degnan, Dennis-Taylor, D'Souza, Dubowski, DuVall, Effman, Feal, Fellows, Fernandez, Finerty, Finkel, Fiore, Gerstman, Glover, Gold, Graber, Grande, Grays, Greenberg, Griesemer, Gutierrez, Haig, Harper, Heath, Hill, Holder, Islam, Jackson, Jaglom, James, Jamieson, Kamins, Karson, Kartez, Koback, Koch, Kohlmann, Koo, Lamb, Lathrop, Lau-Kee, Leber, Lessard, Levin, Levin Wallach, Levy, Lewis, Liebman, Lissauer, Livshits, Loyola, Lustbader, Mack, MacLean, Malkin, Mancuso, Marinaccio, Markowitz, Maroney, Martin, May, McCann, McCormick, McElwreath, McGinn, McNamara, McPherson, Meyer, C. Miller, M. Miller, R. Miller, Montagnino, Morris, Napoletano, Nasser, Nimetz, Noble, Nowotarski, O'Connor, O'Donnell, Palermo, Pappalardo, E. Parker, J. Parker, Petterchak, Pierson, Randall, Rayskin, Reale, Riaño, Riedel, Rosner, Russell, Ryan, Safer, Santiago, Schraver, Seiden, Sen, Simon, Skidelsky, Soren, Starkman, Strenger, Sunshine, Sweet, Taylor, Treff, Triebwasser, Vaughn, Walsh, Waterman-Marshall, Wesson, Williams, Yeung-Ha

Mr. Napoletano presided over the meeting as Chair of the House.

- 1. <u>Approval of minutes of November 4, 2023, meeting</u>. The minutes of the November 4, 2023, meeting, were approved as distributed.
- <u>Report and Recommendations of Nominating Committee and election of officers and members-at-large for the Executive Committee</u>. Scott Karson, Esq., in his capacity as chair of the Nominating Committee, reported that the Committee had nominated the following individuals for election to the indicated offices for the 2024-2025 Association year: President-Elect: Kathleen M. Sweet, Buffalo; Secretary: Taa R. Grays, New York City; Treasurer: Susan L. Harper, New Jersey; and Vice-Presidents: First District Bridgette Ahn and Michael McNamara, New York City; Second District Pauline Yeung-Ha, Brooklyn; Third District Jane Bello Burke, Albany; Fourth District Cynthia F. Feathers, Saratoga; Fifth District Hon. James P. Murphy, Syracuse; Sixth District Michael R. May, Ithaca; Seventh District Jon P. Getz, Rochester; Eighth District Michael A. Markowitz, Hewlett; Eleventh District David Louis Cohen, Kew Gardens; Twelfth District Michael A. Marinaccio, White Plains; Thirteenth District Orin J. Cohen, Staten Island.

There being no further nominations, a motion was made and carried to elect the abovenamed individuals as officers and members-at-large of the Executive Committee.

- Informational Report of New York State Bar Association Civics Convocation Task <u>Force</u>. Gail Ehrlich, Esq. and Christopher Riaño, Esq., co-chairs of the Task Force on 2024 Civics Convocation, presented the task force's report entitled "To Safeguard our Democracy: Making the Case for Civics Education." The report was received with thanks.
- 4. <u>Report and Recommendations of the Task Force on Combating Antisemitism and Anti-Asian Hate</u>. Vincent Change, Esq. and Brian S. Cohen, Esq., co-chairs of the Task Force on Combating Antisemitism and Anti-Asian Hate presented the task force's report. After discussion, the following friendly amendment was accepted:

Page 11, top paragraph: "Jews were wrongfully blamed for the crucifixion of Jesus Christ despite the fact that the Romans were responsible."

Leah Nowotarski, in her capacity as the elected delegate for the Eighth Judicial District and chair of the Criminal Justice Section, made a motion to divide the report and table the portions of the report dealing with penal law. After discussion, the motion failed.

Leah Nowotarski made a motion to table the entirety of the report. After discussion, the motion failed.

A motion was adopted to approve the report and recommendations.

Christopher Palermo abstained.

- 5. <u>Presentation of Ruth G. Shapiro Award to Judge Edwina G. Richardson</u>. Presented by President Lewis.
- 6. <u>Report and Recommendations of Committee on Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Ninth</u> <u>Edition of the NYSBA Diversity Report Card</u>. Jocelyn E. Lupetin, Esq., Lillian Moy, Esq., Nihla Fathima Sikkander, Esq., and Dena DeFazio, Esq. presented the Ninth Edition of the NYSBA Diversity Report Card. After discussion, a motion was adopted to approve the report and recommendations.
- 7. <u>Report and Recommendations of the Committee on Membership</u>. Clotelle L. Drakeford, Esq. and Michelle H. Wildgrube, Esq., co-chairs of the Committee on Membership, presented about the updated membership model. After discussion, a motion was adopted to approve the report and recommendations.

- 8. <u>Report of President</u>. Mr. Lewis highlighted the items contained in his written report, a copy of which is appended to these minutes.
- 9. <u>Address by Hon. Rowan D. Wilson Chief Judge of the State of New York</u>. Chief Judge Wilson addressed the House of Delegates. His remarks were received with thanks.
- 10. <u>Report of the Strategic Planning Committee</u>. Taa R. Grays, Esq., co-chair of the Strategic Planning Committee, and Dr. Ramona Hill reported to the House of Delegates on the ongoing work of the Strategic Planning Committee. The report was received with thanks.
- 11. <u>Report and Recommendations of the Task Force on Medical Aid in Dying</u>. Mary Beth Morrissey, Esq., chair of the Task Force on Medical Aid in Dying presented the report and recommendations of the task force. After discussion, a motion was adopted to approve the report and recommendations.

Sarah Gold abstained.

- 12. <u>Report and Recommendations of Trusts and Estates Section Proposed Legislation –</u> <u>Equity for Surviving Spouses Act (ESSA)</u>. Albert Feuer, Esq., Anna Masilela, Esq., and Cheryl Lynn Katz, Esq. presented the Section's legislative proposal supporting the Equity for Surviving Spouses Act (ESSA). After discussion, a motion was adopted to approve the report and recommendations.
- 13. <u>Report and Recommendations of Committee on New York State Constitution</u>. Christopher Bopst, Esq., chair of the Committee on the New York State Constitution, and Justin Teff, Esq. presented the Committee's report entitled "Establishing a Temporary State Commission to Study New York's Constitution and Make Recommendations." After discussion, a motion was adopted to approve the report and recommendations.
- 14. Administrative Items. There were no administrative items.
- 15. <u>New Business</u>. There were no new business items.
- 16. <u>Date and place of next meeting</u>. Mr. Napoletano announced that the next meeting of the House of Delegates will take place on Saturday, April 6, 2024, at the Bar Center in Albany.

17. <u>Adjournment</u>. There being no further business to come before the House of Delegates, the meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully Submitted,

halpays

Taa R. Grays Secretary