Judicial Section

The Judicial Section is pleased to welcome Section members and visitors. The Judicial Section is a resource offering opportunities for valuable interaction with peers. Making contacts through Judicial Section membership is not limited to the courtroom. Networking with colleagues is an important part of achieving success, enhancing the professionalism of the judiciary and striking a healthy work-life balance. Join us and lend your voice to ensure your opinions are represented. The Judicial Section committees address unique issues facing the duties, responsibilities, and welfare of the judiciary. The Section also provides a forum for representatives of the Council of Judicial Associations to address issues relating to legislation and court procedure.

Membership in the Judicial Section is open to a registered NYSBA member who is or has been a judge or justice of any court of the State of New York, or who resides in New York State and is or has been a judge or justice of a United States Court.

Contact the Judicial Section Liaison

To learn more about this Section, please contact Kirsten Downer
[email protected]
(518) 487-5552

Please do not contact the Section liaison with a request for legal advice or an attorney referral. You can instead visit our ‘Public Resources’ or ‘Lawyer Referral Service’ page for this type of request.

Hon Gregory GilbertHon. Gregory R. Gilbert, J.S.C.

Hon. Gregory R. Gilbert, J.S.C. has been elected to serve as Presiding Member of the New York State Bar Association (NYSBA) Judicial Section for a one-year term beginning June 1, 2023.

The slate of officers includes: Hon. Tanya R. Kennedy, Appellate Division, First Department, Assistant Presiding Member; Hon. Brian D. Burns, Supreme Court, Otsego County, Secretary; Hon. Karen M. C. Cortes, Family Court, Bronx County, Treasurer; and Hon. Joanne D. Quiñones, Supreme Court, Kings County, Immediate Past Presiding Member and Communications Officer.

Justice Gilbert graduated with a B.A. in Political Science from Siena College, magna cum laude, in 1988. He graduated from Albany Law School of Union University with a juris doctorate in 1991.

Justice Gilbert joined the Oswego, N.Y. Law Firm of Amdursky, Pelky, Fennell & Wallen, P.C. in August, 1991 and was named partner in 1998. He was admitted to the N.Y.S. Bar by the Appellate Division, Fourth Department in January 1992 and to the U.S. District Court for the Northern District of New York that same year.

Justice Gilbert was elected to the N.Y.S. Supreme Court in November 2016. He served as a designated Supreme Court Justice in Onondaga County from 2017 through 2019 and currently serves in his home county of Oswego. Justice Gilbert has served as Acting Administrative Judge for the Fifth Judicial District under Administrative Judge James P. Murphy since January 1, 2020 and is the Fifth Judicial District Coordinating Judge for Foreclosures.

Justice Gilbert has been a long-standing member of both the New York State Bar and Oswego County Bar Associations. He is also past President of the Oswego County Bar Association. Justice Gilbert was a contributing author to the NYSBA publication Workers’ Compensation Law and Practice in New York (2011).

Online Community

Judicial Dispatch_Spring2024_Cover

Judicial Dispatch

The Judicial Dispatch is a publication of the New York State Bar Association’s Judicial Section.



The Newsletter of the the Committee on Courts and Appellate Jurisdiction.

Author Guidelines

NYSBA has created comprehensive author guidelines, with information regarding our reprint policy, style guidelines, and obtaining MCLE Author Credits.

Judicial Section Committee


Advancement of Judicial Diversity
The NYSBA Advancement of Judicial Diversity Award serves to recognize individuals for their efforts to promote diversity on the bench throughout New York State. Recipients will embody the New York State Bar Association’s commitment to diversity and inclusion at all levels of the judiciary.

2023 recipients: Hon. Erika M. Edwards; Hon. Sallie Manzanet-Daniels; and Hon. Lillian Wan
2022 recipient: Hon. Kathie E. Davidson
2021 recipient: Franklin H. Williams Judicial Commission (awarded to its co-chairs, Hon. Shirley Troutman and Hon. Troy K. Webber on the occasion of its 30th Anniversary)
2020 recipient: Hon. Rosalyn H. Richter
2019 recipient: None
2018 recipient: Hon. George Silver
2017 recipient: Hon. William C. Thompson (ret)
2016 recipient: Hon. Edwina Richardson Mendelson
2015 recipient: Hon. Karen K. Peters

Distinguished Jurist Award
To honor a jurist who embodies the highest ideals of the Judicial Section and recognize judicial excellence and extraordinary commitment to the rule of law.

2023 recipient: Hon. Hector D. LaSalle
2022 recipient: Hon. Robert G. Main, Jr.
2021 recipient: Hon. Rolando T. Acosta
2020 recipient: Chief Judge Janet M. DiFiore
2019 recipient: Hon. Raymond Lohier, Jr.
2018 recipient: Hon. Paul Feinman
2017 recipient: Hon. Lawrence K. Marks
2016 recipient: none
2015 recipient: Hon. Betty Weinberg Ellerin
2014 recipient: Hon. Judith S. Kaye

Lifetime Achievement Recognition:
2018 recipients: Hon. Karen Peters; Hon. Randall Eng
2017 recipient: Hon. Milton Mollen

Merit Award Honorees:
2019 recipients: Hon. Elizabeth Garry; Hon. Alan Scheinkman

Judicial Section Annual Reception  Awards Luncheon  35
Judicial luncheon awards (17 of 122)
2016-01-29 - Judicial Reception - 070
01-30-Judicial- Lunch 034

Contact Us

"*" indicates required fields

Name * Required
gradient circle (purple) gradient circle (green)

Connect with Judicial Section