The Phil Cowan Memorial Scholarship (Cowan Memorial Scholarship), established in memory of former EASL Section Chair Phil Cowan, sponsors an annual writing competition open to law students in all accredited law schools throughout New York State, along with Rutgers and Seton Hall.*

Students are invited to submit a 10-page paper addressing a legal issue in any of the following areas of law: entertainment, art, sports or copyright law.  The Scholarship Committee comprised of an array of members from EASL’s Executive Committee will select two winning papers. The authors of the winning papers are each awarded a $2,500 Scholarship and the winning papers are published in the Entertainment, Arts and Sports Law Journal of the NYSBA.

*Students attending law schools outside of New York and New Jersey are welcome to apply but please note admission and selection are made under extenuating circumstances.


Diana Nelson,  St. John’s University School of Law
Michele D. Fasciale, Seton Hall Law School

Jessica A. Caso, St. John University School of Law
Josephine Luck, Fordham University

Online Community

Contact Us

"*" indicates required fields

Name * Required
gradient circle (purple) gradient circle (green)

Connect with Phil Cowan – Judith Bresler Memorial Scholarship Committee