January 24, 2019: New York State Bar Association Elects New Officers, Section Chairs

By Communications Department

January 24, 2019

January 24, 2019: New York State Bar Association Elects New Officers, Section Chairs


By Communications Department

Scott M. Karson, of Stony Brook, has been elected president-elect designee of the New York State Bar Association.

Current President-elect Henry M. “Hank” Greenberg, of Albany, assumes the presidency on June 1, 2019, succeeding President Michael Miller, of New York City. Sherry Levin Wallach, of White Plains, was elected to a third one-year term as secretary. Domenick Napoletano, of Brooklyn, was elected treasurer.

The House of Delegates, the association’s governing body, elected Karson and the other officers during the 142nd Annual Meeting in New York City on January 18. Karson begins a one-year term as president-elect on June 1, 2019 and will become president on June 1, 2020.

Scott M. Karson 
Karson is a partner at Lamb & Barnosky in Melville. He is the chair of the firm’s Professional Ethics Committee and Litigation Committee. He concentrates his practice on trial and appellate litigation, including municipal, commercial, real property title, land use and zoning and personal injury litigation. He has argued more than 100 appeals in the state and federal appellate courts.

Karson is currently treasurer of the association, his third one-year term in that role. Karson previously served a three-year term as vice president of the State Bar for the Tenth Judicial District (Nassau and Suffolk counties) and is a member and former chair of the NYSBA’s Audit Committee.

He is also a member and former chair of the Committee on Courts of Appellate Jurisdiction, and serves as a member of the Finance Committee, the President’s Committee on Access to Justice and the Committee to Review Judicial Nominations.

In addition, Karson is a past president of the Suffolk County Bar Association and is the delegate of the Suffolk County Bar Association to the American Bar Association House of Delegates. He is also a member of the American Bar Association Council of Appellate Lawyers. He is vice chair of the Board of Directors of Nassau Suffolk Law Services, the principal provider of civil legal services to Long Island’s indigent population. He is a recipient of the Suffolk County Bar Association President’s Award (1996 and 2011) and Lifetime Achievement Award (2018).

Karson graduated from the State University of New York at Stony Brook and earned his law degree cum laude from Syracuse University College of Law.

Section Chairs
Six new State Bar Association section chairs also assumed office during Annual Meeting. They include:

  • Nicholas Gaglio, of New York City (Axinn, Veltrop & Harkrider) – Antitrust Law Section
  • Mitchell F. Borger, of New Jersey (Macy’s Inc.) – Corporate Counsel Section
  • Deborah Paul, of New York City (Wachtell, Lipton, Rosen & Katz) – Tax Section
  • James P. O’Connor, of New York City (Maroney O’Connor) – Torts, Insurance and Compensation Law Section
  • Kevin J. Sullivan, of Buffalo (Nichols and Sullivan) – Trial Lawyers Section
  • Robert M. Harper, of Uniondale (Farrell Fritz) – Trusts and Estates Law Section

About the New York State Bar Association
The New York State Bar Association is the largest voluntary state bar association in the nation. Since 1876, the Association has helped shape the development of law, educated and informed the legal profession and the public, and championed the rights of New Yorkers through advocacy and guidance in our communities.

Contact: Christian Nolan
[email protected]

Six diverse people sitting holding signs
gradient circle (purple) gradient circle (green)


My NYSBA Account

My NYSBA Account