January 31, 2018: New York State Bar Association Elects 2018-2019 Officers

By Communications Department

January 31, 2018

January 31, 2018: New York State Bar Association Elects 2018-2019 Officers


By Communications Department

Henry M. “Hank” Greenberg of Albany has been elected president-elect designee of the New York State Bar Association.

Current President-elect Michael Miller of New York City assumes the presidency on June 1, 2018, succeeding Sharon Stern Gerstman of Buffalo. Sherry Levin Wallach (Bashian & Farber) of White Plains was elected to a second one-year term as secretary. Scott M. Karson (Lamb & Barnosky) of Melville was elected to a third one-year term as treasurer.

The House of Delegates, the Association’s governing body, elected Greenberg and the other officers during the 141st Annual Meeting in Manhattan on January 26. Greenberg begins a one-year term as president-elect on June 1, 2018 and will become president on June 1, 2019.

Henry M. Greenberg

Greenberg of Albany, a shareholder at Greenberg Traurig, is currently vice-president of the Association’s 3rd Judicial District.

He concentrates his practice on civil litigation, criminal and civil investigations, health law, and regulatory and administrative law.

Greenberg is also chair of the State Bar’s Committee on the New York State Constitution. Previously, he served in the Association’s House of Delegates; was co-chair of the Committee on Court Structure and Operations; and chaired the Legislative Policy Committee, Steven C. Krane Special Committee on Law School Loan Assistance for Public Interest (SLAP), and Committee on Attorneys in Public Service.

He is chair of the New York State Third Department Judicial Screening Committee, a member of the Statewide Judicial Screening Committee, and counsel to the New York State Commission on Judicial Nomination. He is a vice chair of The Historical Society of New York’s Courts, a fellow of the New York Bar Foundation, and a member of the New York State Judicial Institute on Professionalism in the Law and the Advisory Group of the New York State and Federal Judicial Council.

He is a frequent lecturer and has written articles and book chapters on a range of legal subjects.

Greenberg obtained degrees from the University of Chicago, with honors, and Syracuse University College of Law, cum laude.

Profiles of the State Bar’s current officers can be viewed here.

New section chairs

Eight new State Bar section chairs also assumed office during Annual Meeting. They include:

• Wesley R. Powell of New York City (Willkie, Farr, & Gallagher)—Antitrust Law Section.

• Elizabeth J. Shampnoi of New York City (NYC Commission on Human Rights) — Corporate   Counsel Section.

• Barry Skidelsky of Manhattan (private practice) — Entertainment, Arts & Sports Law Section.

• Eric A. Tepper of Glenville (Gordon, Tepper & DeCoursey) —Family Law Section (effective February 1).

• Karen Gilbreath Sowell of Washington, D.C. (Ernst & Young’s National Tax Department) — Tax Section.

• Timothy J. Fennell of Oswego (Amdursky, Pelky, Fennell & Wallen, P.C.) —Torts, Insurance and Compensation   Law Section.

• Violet E. Samuels of Rosedale (Samuels & Associates)—Trial Lawyers Section.

• Natalia Murphy of New York City (Citi Trust) Trusts and Estates Law Section.

About the New York State Bar Association

The New York State Bar Association is the largest voluntary state bar association in the nation. Since 1876, the Association has helped shape the development of law, educated and informed the legal profession and the public, and championed the rights of New Yorkers through advocacy and guidance in our communities.


Contact: Dan Weiller

Managing Director of Marketing and Communications

[email protected]


Six diverse people sitting holding signs
gradient circle (purple) gradient circle (green)


My NYSBA Account

My NYSBA Account