January 4, 2019: Three New York City Attorneys to be Honored by State Bar Association

By Communications Department

January 4, 2019

January 4, 2019: Three New York City Attorneys to be Honored by State Bar Association


By Communications Department

The Committee on Professional Ethics of the New York State Bar Association (NYSBA) will recognize Hofstra University School of Law Professor Ellen Yaroshefsky, of Hempstead with the Sanford D. Levy Award on January 16 at the NYSBA Annual Meeting in New York City.

The Sanford D. Levy Award, named for a former member of the Committee, has been granted annually since 1982 to an individual or institution that has significantly contributed to an understanding of professional ethics.  Previous recipients of the Levy Award include former New York State Chief Judge Judith S. Kaye; Professor Stephen Gillers (New York University School of Law); Professor Thomas D. Morgan (George Washington School of Law); Roger C. Cramton of Ithaca (Cornell University Law School); and the New York Professional Responsibility Report.

Yaroshefsky is the Howard Lichtenstein Distinguished Professor of Legal Ethics and the executive director of the Monroe Freedman Institute for the Study of Legal Ethics at Hofstra. She teaches a range of ethics course while also counseling lawyers and law firms and serving as an expert witness. She is a member of the advisory board for the NYSBA Committee on Standards of Attorney Conduct.

Stuart B. Newman, Esq. of New York (Offit Kurman) will receive the David S. Caplan Award for Meritorious Service, from the Business Law Section on January 16. Given in honor of David S. Caplan, former Executive Committee member, and Committee Chair, the award recognizes the exemplary and long-term service to the Business Law Section and its members.

Newman has been an active NYSBA member throughout his fifty-year career, becoming involved with the Business Law Section in the 1970s. As a member of the Securities Regulation Committee, he developed and chaired a biennial CLE course that was offered for over 20 years. In 1997, he founded the New York Business Law Journal, a bi-annual publication, where he has contributed dozens of articles.

Stacey A. Mahoney, Esq. of New York (Morgan, Lewis & Bockius, LLP) will receive the William T. Lifland Award from the Antitrust Section on January 17. The award acknowledges those who throughout their professional careers have distinguished themselves as leading antitrust practitioners as well as serving the broader antitrust community in a leadership role.

Mahoney’s practice includes all aspects of antitrust law. She represents clients in cases involving restraints of trade, monopolization, tying, exclusive dealing, price fixing, price discrimination, false advertising, unfair competition, and related business torts. She is the former chair of the Antitrust Section.

Honoring attorneys who render extraordinary service to the public and the profession is part of NYSBA’s Annual Meeting, which each January attracts thousands of lawyers from around the state, the nation and the world. They come to meet and connect with their colleagues, and to learn from the experts in many areas of the law.

NYSBA’s 142nd Annual Meeting January 14-18 explores of current issues in the law with a presidential summit on January 16 that looks at the #MeToo movement, wrongful prosecutions and whistleblower laws. Speakers at other programs during the week include former U.S. Attorney for the Southern District of New York Preet Bharara; New York State Solicitor General Barbara Underwood, who recently served as the state’s first female Attorney General; Internal Revenue Service Commissioner Charles Rettig; Bronx Borough President Ruben Diaz, Jr.; State Assembly Health Committee Chair Richard Gottfried; and Court of Appeals Chief Judge Janet DiFiore.

Contact: Brendan Kennedy
[email protected]

Six diverse people sitting holding signs
gradient circle (purple) gradient circle (green)


My NYSBA Account

My NYSBA Account