January 9, 2019: Chief Administrative Judge Lawrence K. Marks to be Honored by State Bar Association

By Communications Department

January 9, 2019

January 9, 2019: Chief Administrative Judge Lawrence K. Marks to be Honored by State Bar Association


By Communications Department

The Criminal Justice Section of the New York State Bar Association (NYSBA) will recognize the Honorable Lawrence K. Marks, chief administrative judge of the New York State Unified Court System with the Vincent E. Doyle Jr. Award for Outstanding Judicial Contribution in the Criminal Justice System on Wednesday, January 16 at the NYSBA Annual Meeting.

Marks, who has been New York’s chief administrative judge since 2015, receives the award that recognizes the judicial efforts to improve the administration of the criminal justice system. He oversees the day-to-day administration and operation of the statewide court system, with a budget of over $2.5 billion, 3,600 state and local judges and 15,000 nonjudicial employees in over 300 locations across the state.

The Criminal Justice Section will also be honoring the following individuals with awards at the NYSBA Annual Meeting:

Art C. Cody, Esq., of Albany will receive the David S. Michaels Memorial Award, which recognizes courageous efforts in promoting integrity, justice, and fairness in the criminal justice system. Cody serves as deputy director of the Veterans Defense Program and New York State Defenders Association.

Elizabeth Glaser, Esq., of New York, will receive the Outstanding Contribution to the Bar and the Community Award. Glazer is the director of the New York City Mayor’s Office of Criminal Justice and former chief adviser to Governor Andrew Cuomo on criminal justice and homeland security policy.

Joseph M. LaTona, Esq. of Buffalo (Joseph LaTona Attorney at Law) will receive the Charles F. Crimi Memorial Award. The award recognizes the professional career of a defense attorney in private practice that embodies the highest ideals of the Criminal Justice Section. LaTona has been in private practice for the past 18 years and has represented clients in cases involving allegations of fraud, conspiracy, murder and criminally negligent homicide.

William J. Leahy, Esq., of Albany will receive the Michele S. Maxian Award for Outstanding Public Defense Practitioner. Since 2011, Leahy has been the director of New York State Office of Indigent Legal Services, where he has taken on the mantle of improving the quality of representation for poor people in the criminal and family courts throughout the state.

Honorable Martin Marcus, acting justice, Bronx County Supreme Court will receive the Outstanding Contribution in the Field of Criminal Law Education award. Judge Marcus has been assigned to the Bronx County Supreme Court since 1990.

P. David Soares, Esq., Albany County District Attorney, will receive the Outstanding Prosecutor Award. Soares is now in his fourth term as DA. He has been successful with the creation of several special units dedicated to reducing street violence through creative, non-tradition means, building hope for the people of Albany County, and emphasizing prevention over prosecution.

Honoring attorneys who render extraordinary service to the public and the profession is part of NYSBA’s Annual Meeting, which each January attracts thousands of lawyers from around the state, the nation and the world. They come to meet and connect with their colleagues, and to learn from the experts in many areas of the law.

NYSBA’s 142nd Annual Meeting January 14-18 explores current issues in the law with a presidential summit on January 16 that looks at the #MeToo movement, wrongful prosecutions and whistleblower laws. Speakers at other programs during the week include former U.S. Attorney for the Southern District of New York Preet Bharara; New York State Solicitor General Barbara Underwood, who recently served as the state’s first female Attorney General; Internal Revenue Service Commissioner Charles Rettig; Bronx Borough President Ruben Diaz, Jr.; State Assembly Health Committee Chair Richard Gottfried; and Court of Appeals Chief Judge Janet DiFiore.

Contact: Brendan Kennedy
[email protected]

Six diverse people sitting holding signs
gradient circle (purple) gradient circle (green)


My NYSBA Account

My NYSBA Account