Environmental & Energy Law Section Council’s Award of Merit

To recognize a member of the Environmental & Energy Law Section for outstanding contribution to the Section’s work and activities.

Presented by: Environmental & Energy Law Section

Contact: Amy Jasiewicz

Nomination Deadline: Varies

Date Presented: January Annual Meeting

2023 Honoree: Global Climate Change Committee

2020 Honoree: Michael B. Gerrard

2021 Award Winners: Drew Victoria Gamils and Rachel Lynn Partington


Drew Gamils
Keane & Beane, P.C.

Drew Gamils is an associate at Keane & Beane, P.C. where her practice is devoted to the areas of planning and zoning, and litigation pertaining to land use, municipal, environmental and real estate matters.  Ms. Gamils provides general counsel services to municipalities in Westchester and Dutchess Counties regarding all aspects of municipal operations, including land use and zoning matters. Ms. Gamils also provides advice to private clients regarding land use applications and assists the firm’s public and private sector clients in complying with the State Environmental Quality Review Act, the New York City Watershed Regulations and other environmental regulatory requirements. She regularly appears before municipal boards throughout the Hudson Valley on behalf of developers, businesses, and individuals.  She also serves as counsel to local planning and zoning boards.  Her litigation experience includes matters related to compliance with the New York State Environmental Quality Review Act (SEQRA), challenges to local planning and zoning board decisions, as well as both prosecution and defense of zoning and building code violations.

Ms. Gamils has presented on issues related to the coronavirus, public meetings, 5G wireless telecommunication, and zoning for the Dutchess County Municipal Planning Federation, local bar associations and local business organizations.

Ms. Gamils received her juris doctor, cum laude, from the Elisabeth Haub School of Law at Pace University in 2016, with a Certificate in Environmental Law, and received her bachelor’s degree, summa cum laude, from the State University of New York College of Environmental Science and Forestry in 2013.  She is admitted to practice in New York, New Jersey, the Southern District of New York and the Eastern District of New York.



Rachel L. Partington
Knauf Shaw LLP

Rachel L. Partington is co-chair of the NYSBA Environmental and Energy Law’s Social Media Committee. She is an associate at Knauf Shaw LLP, where she focuses her law practice in Environmental, Land Use, and Municipal Law. She works with developers, businesses, municipalities, non-profits and others on matters including Superfund litigation, brownfield redevelopment, New York State Environmental Quality Review Act (SEQR) compliance, planning and zoning review, smart growth, and renewable energy development.

She has also guest-lectured at Wells College on Sustainability and Environmental Issues and serves as counsel to the Catskill Explorer Organization, which promotes and oversees renewable infrastructure, transportation, and tourism in the Catskill Mountains.

Ms. Partington received her juris doctor from the Elisabeth Haub School of Law at Pace University, where she graduated from the school’s Real Estate and Land Use program and worked at the Land Use Law Center.

2022: No awards presented

Previous Award Recipients