Given annually, or at the discretion of the General Practice Section, to honor an individual who is outstanding, innovative, and has made significant contributions to improve the daily practice of law for general practitioners in New York State.

Presented by: General Practice Section

Contact: [email protected]

Nomination Deadline: November

Date Presented: January Annual Meeting

Award Criteria: This award recognizes a person who has contributed their time and expertise to improve the daily practice for law for general practitioners in New York State, and who has demonstrated a strong dedication to the profession. Consideration will be given to involvement in NYSBA and/or General Practice Section activities.

Prize Awarded: Plaque and $1,000 check


  • 2019 – Richard A. Klass
  • 2018 – Paul J. O’Neill, Jr.
  • 2017 – Martin Minkowitz
  • 2016 – Robert L. Ostertag
  • 2015 – Willard H. DaSilva
  • 2014 – Leonard E. Sienko, Jr.