gradient circle (purple) gradient circle (green)

Comm: Committee on Civil Practice Law and Rules

The Committee on Civil Practice Law and Rules is charged with the authority to study and make recommendations and to consider and act upon legislation or rules concerning civil practice in our State courts. We also develop original legislation which we believe is necessary or useful to the practice of law in New York.

Our web site is intended to serve as a central clearinghouse for members of our committee as well as members of the bar interested in CPLR related issues. From this page, you can track CPLR legislation introduced in the legislature for the current sessionor the previous legislative sessions, with links to the bills, supporting memoranda,and our legislative reports. Importantly, our committee also proposes legislation, which is designed to improve the practice of law. We also have links to legal periodicals, law journals and other legal research sites.

The Committee is not an advocacy or political group. The membership is made up of a wide cross-section of the bar association, including members of the commercial bar, the personal injury bar (representing both plaintiffs and defendants), law professors and judges.

Online Community

Committee Roster

Mr. Michael L. Chartan, Esq.

Mr. David L. Carey, Esq.

Mr. Michael D. Zahler, Esq.

Mr. Michael A. Schoenberg

Ruskin Moscou & Faltischek PC

Mr. Daniel J. Bobbett, Esq.

Zdarsky Sawicki & Agostinelli LLP

Mr. Richard G. Menaker, Esq.

Mr. William Robert Samuels

Mr. David Jaroslawicz, Esq.

Mr. Lawrence M. Rosenstock, Esq.

Mr. Thomas C. Bivona


Mr. James E. Hough, Esq.

Morrison & Foerster LLP

Mr. James Michael Bergin, Esq.

Morrison & Foerster LLP

Ms. Helene R. Hechtkopf, Esq.


Mr. Tom M. Fini, Esq.

Mr. Gerald A. Novack, Esq.

Mr. Seth Buchman, Esq.

Legal Services of Central New York Inc.

Mr. Samuel J. Abate Jr., Esq.

Pepper Hamilton LLP

Mr. Scott Wesley Parker

Mr. Mitchell J. Katz

Mr. Reed Daniel Forbush, Esq.

Mr. Edward R. Finkelstein

Mr. Harold B. Obstfeld, Esq.

Mr. Brian T. Egan, Esq.

Mr. Reid Andrew Aronson, Esq.

Aronson Mayefsky & Sloan LLP

Mr. Giacomo Bossa, Esq.

Hon. John R. Higgitt

Mr. Matthew G. Coogan, Esq.

Mr. Clifford Gee-Tong Tsan, Esq.

Mr. Eric Matthew Fishman, Esq.

Mr. Michael Allan Rosenhouse

Mr. Michael Wainwright Whitcher, Esq.

Mr. Marshall H. Fishman

Mr. Joshua A. Roy, Esq.

Morrison & Foerster LLP

Hon. John P. Colangelo

Mr. Richard B. Friedman, Esq.

Mr. Joshua Katz, Esq.

Mr. Brem Mica Moldovsky, Esq.

Mr. Steven M. Critelli, Esq.

Mr. Burton N. Lipshie, Esq.

Mr. Richard P. Swanson, Esq.

Mr. David J. McNamara, Esq.

Phillips Lytle LLP

Mr. Adam P. Friedman, Esq.

Chiesa Shahinian & Giantomasi PC

Mr. Shawn Preston Ricardo, Esq.

Golenbock Eiseman Assor Bell & Peskoe LLP

Ms. Linda Jane Clark, Esq.

Mr. Richard R. DuVall, Esq.

McCabe & Mack LLP

Mr. Steven J. Shore, Esq.

Mr. David B. Eizenman, Esq.

Ms. Constance M. Boland, Esq.

Mr. Richard B. Long

Coughlin & Gerhart, LLP

Mr. Leonard M. Rosenberg, Esq.

Garfunkel Wild PC

Ms. Susan M. Davies, Esq.

Mr. James N. Blair

Mr. Joseph Aaron Jacobson, Esq.

David S. Frydman


Meeting Agendas and Minutes

Contact Us

  • Name * Required
gradient circle (purple) gradient circle (green)

Connect with Comm: Committee on Civil Practice Law and Rules