Mission Statement

The foundational purpose of the New York State Bar Association is to advocate on behalf of the legal profession and the practice of law. Therefore, in preparation for the emergence from the COVID-19 Pandemic, the Association on behalf of its member attorneys must reflect on how the crisis has dramatically and determinatively affected the legal profession and anticipate how these changes may further alter the practice of law.

The Task Force on the Post-Pandemic Future of the Profession is thereby established to systematically review the effects of the pandemic, both short-term and long-term, on the legal profession and the practice of law in general. This review shall include study of the remote practice of law, the increased use of technology, the efficacy of virtual courts and tribunals, changes in client interaction, law practice management, access to justice, the delivery of legal services, and the education, training, expectations, and mentorship of law students and newer attorneys. The Task Force shall advise on the anticipated future impact of these changes on the practice of law and on attorneys. It shall make recommendations to ensure practitioner success and to safeguard and strengthen the future of the legal profession.

Task Force Co-Chairs

Mark A. Berman, Esq.
John H. Gross, Esq.

Working Groups of the Task Force

Access to Justice

Frederick K. Brewington, Esq., co-chair
Prof. Joseph A. Rosenberg, co-chair
Hon. Cheryl E. Chambers
Jennie Kim, Esq.
Erica L. Ludwick, Esq.
Thomas Maligno, Esq.

Attorney-Client Relations

Susan L. Harper, Esq., co-chair
Eileen D. Millett, Esq., co-chair
Harvey B. Besunder, Esq.
Timothy Fennell, Esq.
Lindsay V. Heckler, Esq.
Evan H. Krinick, Esq.
Lauren E. Sharkey, Esq.
Hon. Kathleen C. Waterman

Law Practice Management and Technology

Karen Greve Milton, Esq., co-chair
Anne B. Sekel, Esq., co-chair
Simeon H. Baum, Esq.
Clare J. Degnan, Esq.
Veronica Nechele Dunlap, Esq.
Natasha Shishov, Esq.
Ryan M. Torino, Esq.
Jeffrey T. Zaino, Esq.

New Lawyers and Law Students

James R. Barnes, Esq., co-chair
Prof. Leslie Garfield Tenzer, co-chair
Evan Maurice Goldstick, Esq.
Kaitlyn Marchant (Law Student Assistant)
Kelly Ilene McGovern, Esq.
Natalie Pagano, Esq.
Kimberly Wolf Price, Esq.
Kevin Joseph Quaratino, Esq.
Adriana Volterra, Esq.
Daniel von Staats (Law Student Assistant)

Research Assistants to the Task Force

Claire J. Lippman, Esq.
Sophia R. Terrassi, Esq

Committee Roster

Contact Us

"*" indicates required fields

Name * Required
gradient circle (purple) gradient circle (green)

Connect with Task Force on Post-Pandemic Future of the Profession